Cocktails anyone?

Solid Cocktail at Barbacoa

While Boise may not seem, to outsiders, a place of sophistication or class, I’m always dying to take those people to numerous spots around town that I think are just fabulous.

One of those such places is Barbacoa, which recently reopened after a fire burned down the original restaurant a year ago. My friend Trisha and I ventured out to experience the new building Tuesday night; we loved the old Barbacoa and were interested to see what the owners had changed with a rebuild.

We weren’t disappointed. The building, food, drinks and service are as wonderful as ever! And it seems we’re not the only ones who think so, we showed up after work on a Tuesday about 6:30 p.m. to be told a table for two would be a two hour wait! We decided to sit in the bar since we only planned to have drinks and appetizers and our position allowed us a good vantage point to scope out the place.

It has the same feel as the old Barbacoa but even more extravagant if that’s possible.  We entered through two massive, ornate, heavy doors after walking up a path lit by tall, tiki torches. There’s a huge chandelier (and I mean huge, I’m guessing about a 4 to 5 meter circumference at the widest part) that, from a distance, seemed to be made from white feathers or something like that. All sorts of fancy and eclectic art work graces the walls and we walked to the bar under a huge glass archway filled with hundreds of bottles of wine.

Of course we tried their famous, made-at-the-table gaucamole and I had a cocktail served in an awesome ice glass. All the things we loved about Barbacoa are still there with a few extra, extravagant details that make you feel like you’re not in Boise, but in some fancy, far off place. I can’t wait for the summer when I can sip a delicious mojito out on their patio over looking the lake.

Naturally Barbacoa’s not the only place in Boise that exudes a high class atmosphere. A week or so ago my Mum and I stopped by the Red Feather Lounge downtown on 8th Street. To the shock of many Boiseans, it was the first time I’d tried the place and I’m not sure why since I’ve heard how lovely it is from so many people in the past.

We enjoyed some delicious French 75s while sat at their cozy bar. It’s almost a hole in the wall type of place with a small and exclusive feel. Old raw brick walls and high windows line one side and a curving staircase leads to basement seating. It has a dark and classy style. I felt like Carrie Bradshaw should be sitting at the bar sipping a cocktail, waiting for Mr. Big to arrive for a clandestine meeting like so many times in Sex and the City.

I’d been numerous times to the Bittercreek Alehouse next door and love to try their many different beers, from those brewed in Boise to the international options. It was interesting that just next door could be such a different, high class atmosphere, I’ll definitely be back at the Red Feather Lounge again soon.

I’m sure there are tons more place in Boise with a similar vibe just waiting for me to find them. I can’t wait to try the next one! And for all you skeptics out there, Boise may be in Idaho but it’s not a simple country town, we have some pretty awesome spots that could rival any metropolitan area in the states!

One response

  1. Pingback: How many miles did your beer travel? | Life 208

Leave a comment